All-Beethoven at Simon’s Rock

Fri, Apr 1, 2016, 7:30 PM
Pre-Concert discussion with Leon Botstein at 6:30 PM

DANIEL ARTS CENTER, MCCONNELL THEATER, BARD COLLEGE AT SIMON’S ROCK IN GREAT BARRINGTON, MA

–Beethoven’s Choral Fantasy & 5th symphony
–Pianist Peter Serkin; “one of America’s finest pianists” –The Daily Telegraph
–Conducted by Leon Botstein; “peerlessly adventurous” –The New York Times

Program

Beethoven: Choral Fantasy
Heroic grandeur and expansive lyricism; the main melody is a precursor to the “Ode to Joy” theme from his 9th symphony

Beethoven: Symphony No. 5
Climactic and daring; it premiered in a freezing auditorium by an orchestra that had only rehearsed it once!

Artists

LEON BOTSTEIN, conductor
PETER SERKINpiano
BARD COLLEGE CHAMBER SINGERS
BARD FESTIVAL CHORALE

Video

Beethoven – Choral Fantasy

Beethoven – Symphony No. 5

Peter Serkin

Photo by Kathy Chapman

MORE CONCERTS

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM