Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM
Part of the series TŌN at the Fisher Center

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

ORCHESTRA SEATS JUST $35!

Choose 3 or more TŌN at the Fisher Center concerts and save 25%

  • Works by Beethoven and Frank Martin
  • TŌN performs a set of monologues, and the most famous symphony of all time
  • Conducted by Leon Botstein; “relentlessly innovative” –The New York Times
  • With baritone Nathaniel Sullivan, a winner of the Bard College Conservatory 2016 Concerto Competition
  • With soprano Chloé Olivia Moore, alto Teresa Buchholz, tenor John Pickle, bass-baritone Alfred Walker, and the Bard College Chamber Singers & Bard Festival Chorale

What’s on the Program

Frank Martin Six Monologues from Jedermann
“I found this to be a dark and beautiful, yet cautionary tale about holding on to your worldly possessions—this ideology is close to home for me.” –Scot Moore, viola

Beethoven Symphony No. 9
“Who doesn’t love this piece? It’s joyous, epic, and monumental.” –Dan Honaker, tuba

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

SAT/SUN
8:00/2:00 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Frank Martin Six Monologues from Jedermann
Sung in German with English supertitles
Nathaniel Sullivan, baritone
17 min

8:30/2:30 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 9
Sung in German with English supertitles
Chloé Olivia Moore, soprano; Teresa Buchholz, mezzo-soprano; John Pickle, tenor; Alfred Walker, bass-baritone
Bard College Chamber Singers & Bard Festival Chorale
1 hr 6 min

10:00/4:00 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

LEON BOTSTEIN, conductor
NATHANIEL SULLIVAN, baritone
CHLOÉ OLIVIA MOORE, soprano
TERESA BUCHHOLZ, mezzo-soprano
JOHN PICKLE, tenor
ALFRED WALKER, bass-baritone
BARD COLLEGE CHAMBER SINGERS & BARD FESTIVAL CHORALE

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Frank Martin Six Monologues from Jedermann

Beethoven Symphony No. 9

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM