Bizet’s Symphony in C

NYC: Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM
Hudson, NY: Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM
Part of the series Around Town

Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at The Great Hall at Cooper Union, NYC
Sun, Mar 18, 2018 at Hudson Hall in Hudson, NY

FREE

RSVP starting Feb 16

  • Works by Bizet, Pärt, and Virgil Thomson
  • TŌN performs a set of variations, a suite, and a symphony
  • Conducted by James Bagwell; “a distinguished conductor” –The New York Times

What’s on the Program

Pärt Fratres
“I find this piece mesmerizing and ethereal. Its variations were influenced by Gregorian chant music.” –Michael Rau, violin

Virgil Thomson The Plow that Broke the Plains Suite
“This music puts you right in the middle of the American farmland. The folk tunes and cowboy songs included in it really paint a vivid picture.” –Michael Franz, bass

Bizet Symphony in C
“Bizet wrote this when he was only 17! It’s romantic, traditional, and enchanting—nothing like the scandalous Carmen that he wrote 20 years later.” –Caleb Wong, viola

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

FRI/SUN
7:30/3:00 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Arvo Pärt Fratres
11 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Virgil Thomson The Plow that Broke the Plains Suite
15 min

8:10/3:40 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Georges Bizet Symphony in C
28 min

9:05/4:35 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

JAMES BAGWELL, conductor

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Pärt Fratres

Virgil Thomson The Plow that Broke the Plains Suite

Bizet Symphony in C

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM