Free Concerts in Brooklyn & Great Barrington

Great Barrington, MA: Fri, Mar 3, 2017, 7:30 PM
Brooklyn: Sun, Mar 5, 2017, 3 PM
Part of the series Around Town

Fri, Mar 3, 2017 at the Daniel Arts Center at Bard College at Simon’s Rock, McConnell Theater in Great Barrington, MA

Sun, Mar 5, 2017 at Brooklyn Center for the Performing Arts at Brooklyn College, Walt Whitman Theatre in Brooklyn

FREE
  • Works by Tchaikovsky, Messiaen, and Glinka
  • TŌN performs an overture, a symphony, and "4 meditations for orchestra"
  • Conducted by Zachary Schwartzman

The Music

Glinka: Overture from Ruslan and Lyudmila
Heroically rousing. Glinka is considered to be the father of Russian music, a hero to Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, and Tchaikovsky.


Messiaen: L’Ascension
Pensive and reverent. Messiaen described this piece as “four meditations for orchestra.”


Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4
Journeys from gloom to jubilee. Tchaikovsky composed this piece in the aftermath of his disastrous marriage.

The Artists

Stream on Spotify

Watch on YouTube

Glinka: Overture from Ruslan and Lyudmila

Messiaen: L’Ascension

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4

Photo: Zachary Schwartzman

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM