Candide

Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 2 PM

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

  • A concert performance of Bernstein’s famous opera
  • Performed with soloists from the Bard College Conservatory Graduate Vocal Arts Program
  • Conducted by James Bagwell; “a distinguished conductor" –The New York Times

The Music

Bernstein: Candide
Bernstein’s famous opera is based in the immortal comic classic by Voltaire.

The Artists

JAMES BAGWELL, conductor
Voltaire/Pangloss/Martin: NATHANIEL SULLIVAN*
Candide: ERIC FINBARR CAREY* (Saturday), CHRISTOPHER REMKUS* (Sunday)
Cunegonde: DANIKA FELTY* (Saturday), NATALIE TRUMM* (Sunday)
Maximilian/Captain: LUKE MACMILLAN*
The Old Lady: MARY ELIZABETH O’NEILL*
Paquette: ELAINE DAIBER*
Governor/Vanderdendur/Ragotski: OLIVIER GAGNON*
Alchemist/Inquisitor/Sultan Achmet/Crook: DANIEL CASTELLANOS
Junkman/Inquisitor/Hermann Augustus: THEO LOWREY
Doctor/Inquisitor/Stanislaus: JAMAL SARIKOKI
Cosmetic Merchant/Inquisitor/Charles Edward: ANDREW BURGER
Bear-keeper/Inquisitor/Tsar Ivan: MUIR INGLISS
BARD COLLEGE SYMPHONIC CHORUS
BARD COLLEGE CHAMBER SINGERS
*member of the Bard College Conservatory Graduate Vocal Arts Program

Stream on Spotify

Watch on YouTube

Bernstein: Candide

MORE CONCERTS

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, May 6, 2018, 1 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM

Chamber Music at Old Dutch Church

Thu, May 24, 2018, 7:30 PM

Fashioning the Russian Sound

Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 7:30 PM

Domestic Music Making in Russia

Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 1:30 PM

The Tsar's Bride

Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 4:30 PM

Brahms & England

Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 2 PM

Copland's Lincoln Portrait

Sat, Nov 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Nov 4, 2018, 2 PM

Russian Evolution: From Rimsky-Korsakov to Glière

Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 7 PM

The Romantic Hero

Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 2 PM

Verdi's Requiem

Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 2 PM

De Profundis: Out of the Depths

Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 2 PM