Candide’s Journey

Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 12 PM to 5 PM
Part of the series Make Our Garden Grow

at Hudson Opera House
in Hudson, NY

FREE
  • A mini marathon of music
  • You may come and go as you please throughout the afternoon
  • Part of Make Our Garden Grow, a free music festival inspired by Voltaire’s Candide, culminating in a full performance of Leonard Bernstein's Candide

The Music & Schedule

12 PM–1 PM
Intro to Candide’s Journey: Ethically, Philosophically, Politically, Geographically
Haydn: String Quartet in E-flat major, “The Joke
Osvaldo Golijov: Mariel
Schumann: String Quartet No. 1

1 PM–2 PM
Martinů: Nonet No. 2
Janáček: Suite for Strings
Q&A with James Bagwell, conductor of Candide

2 PM–3 PM
Prokofiev: String Quartet No. 2
Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks
Villa-Lobos: Bachianas brasilerias No. 5

3 PM–4 PM
Brahms: Clarinet Quintet

4 PM–5 PM
Brass selections from Bernstein’s West Side Story Suite
Newly-commissioned brass quintets written by Bard College Conservatory of Music composers Corey Chang and Jackson Spargur

MORE CONCERTS

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM