Copland & Bruckner

Sat, Sep 24, 2016, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 25, 2016, 2 PM
Part of the series TŌN at the Fisher Center

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

  • Works by Copland and Bruckner
  • TŌN performs a clarinet concerto and a symphony
  • Conducted by Leon Botstein; “relentlessly innovative” –The New York Times
  • With clarinetist Viktor Toth, a winner of Bard Conservatory's 2016 Concerto Competition

The Music

Copland: Clarinet Concerto
Jazz-infused and bittersweet. Renowned bandleader and clarinetist Benny Goodman premiered the work on an NBC radio broadcast.

Bruckner: Symphony No. 5
Monumental and compelling. Leon Botstein led the most recent of only three recordings of the rarely-performed 1896 version.

The Artists

LEON BOTSTEIN, conductor
VIKTOR TOTH ‘16clarinet

Stream on Spotify

Watch on YouTube

Copland: Clarinet Concerto

Bruckner: Symphony No. 5

Photo by Matt Dine

MORE CONCERTS

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM