Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM
Part of the series TŌN at Rose Theater

at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall, Rose Theater
in NYC

ORCHESTRA SEATS JUST $50!

Tickets from $25

  • Works by Berlioz and Walter Braunfels
  • TŌN performs a set of variations and a symphony
  • Conducted by Leon Botstein; “relentlessly innovative” –The New York Times

What’s on the Program

Walter Braunfels Fantastic Appearances of a Theme by Berlioz
“This is a fairytale adventure full of drama. Its asymmetric theme travels from goofiness to mysteriousness to dreaminess.” –Jinn Shin, cello

Berlioz Symphonie fantastique
“One of my favorite pieces to play! It’s a five-movement story of morbid fantasies and characters.” –Kelly Mozeik, oboe

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

7:30 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Walter Braunfels Fantastic Appearances of a Theme by Berlioz
47 min

8:30 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Hector Berlioz Symphonie fantastique
53 min

9:50 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

LEON BOTSTEIN, conductor

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Walter Braunfels Fantastic Appearances of a Theme by Berlioz

Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM