Free Concert in Midtown

Sun, Feb 28, 2016, 3 PM–5 PM

THE TOWN HALL
Part of the series Around Town

–New York’s new orchestra plays a free concert in Midtown
–Haydn, Stravinsky, & David Diamond
–Conducted by Gerard Schwarz; “Drew virtuoso playing from the orchestra” –The Seattle Times

Program

Haydn: Symphony No. 96
A coy start to a flashy end; a chandelier fell during its premiere!

David Diamond: Romeo and Juliet
Full of pathos and beauty; The overture alone conveys the drama of the entire play.

Stravinsky: Pulcinella
Witty and rollicking; Pulcinella is a man chased by all the girls…and their jilted boyfriends.

Artists

GERARD SCHWARZ, conductor
KATHERINE MAYSEK, mezzosoprano
JASON WEISINGER, tenor
LEO RADOSAVLJEVIC, bass-baritone

Video

Haydn – Symphony No. 96

Diamond – Romeo and Juliet

Stravinsky – Pulcinella

Gerard Schwarz

Photo by Steve J. Sherman

MORE CONCERTS

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM