Free Concert at Symphony Space

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM
Part of the series Around Town
Presented by Symphony Space and The Orchestra Now
  • Conducted by Gerard Schwarz
    music director of The All-Star Orchestra and the Eastern Music Festival, and conductor laureate of the Seattle Symphony
  • Eugene Goossens Jubilee Variations (NY Premiere)
    Bruckner Symphony No. 4, Romantic

MORE ABOUT THE MUSIC

Eugene Goossens Jubilee Variations (NY Premiere)
“I hear a distinctly American sound in this piece. It has ten movements by ten different American composers, and ranges from rhythmic to lush melodies.” –Lara Baker-Finch, violin

Bruckner Symphony No. 4, Romantic
“This one got me into the Bruckner symphonies. You can just relax and let the piece unfold.” –Gabe Cruz, trombone

TIMINGS & CONCERT ORDER

Brief remarks by TŌN musician Matt Walley

Eugene Goossens Jubilee Variations (NY Premiere)
21 min

Intermission
20 min

Brief remarks by TŌN musician Jiayu Sun

Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 4, Romantic
1 hr 6 min

All timings are approximate.

More About the Artists

GERARD SCHWARZ, conductor
Gerard Schwarz serves as music director of The All-Star Orchestra, an ensemble of top musicians from America’s leading orchestras featured in twelve television programs that have aired throughout the United States on public television, worldwide by internet streaming, and are the basis for their Khan Academy education platform that has already reached over 6 million students. The programs, also available on DVD, have been awarded six Emmy Awards and an ASCAP Award.
>Full Bio

Sample the Music

Eugene Goossens Jubilee Variations

Bruckner Symphony No. 4, Romantic

Photo by Jito Lee

MORE CONCERTS

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM