Futurism, Popular Culture, and Technology

Fri, Aug 12, 2016, 8 PM

THE RICHARD B. FISHER CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS AT BARD COLLEGE, SOSNOFF THEATER, ANNANDALE-ON-HUDSON, NY
Presented by the Bard Music Festival

–Performance with commentary by Anna Celenza
–Works by Giacomo Puccini, Francesco Balilla Pratella, Alfredo Casella, Luigi Russolo, Franco Casavola, Silvio Mix, Zez Confrey, and others
–With a screening of Nino Oxilia’s film Rapsodia satanica, score by Pietro Mascagni, performed live
–Performed with Blair McMillenpiano; and others
–Conducted by James Bagwell; “a distinguished conductor” –The New York Times

Instruments built by Luigi Russolo

MORE CONCERTS

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, May 6, 2018, 1 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM

Chamber Music at Old Dutch Church

Thu, May 24, 2018, 7:30 PM

Fashioning the Russian Sound

Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 7:30 PM

Domestic Music Making in Russia

Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 1:30 PM

The Tsar's Bride

Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 4:30 PM

Brahms & England

Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 2 PM

Copland's Lincoln Portrait

Sat, Nov 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Nov 4, 2018, 2 PM

Russian Evolution: From Rimsky-Korsakov to Glière

Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 7 PM

The Romantic Hero

Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 2 PM

Verdi's Requiem

Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 2 PM

De Profundis: Out of the Depths

Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 2 PM