Fabio Luisi Conducts Beethoven & Brahms

Sun, May 28, 2017, 1 PM

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

  • Brahms' Symphony No. 4 and Beethoven's Violin Concerto
  • Conducted by Fabio Luisi, principal conductor of the Metropolitan Opera and general music director of the Zurich Opera
  • with violinist David Chan, concertmaster of the MET Orchestra

The Music

Beethoven: Violin Concerto
Robust yet serene at moments. The piece almost fell into obscurity until renowned violinist Joseph Joachim played it to wild success—at only twelve years of age.

Brahms: Symphony No. 4
Powerful and rich in complexity. Brahms payed tribute to Bach with a theme in the last movement—and gave it 30 variations.

The Artists

FABIO LUISI, conductor
DAVID CHAN, violin

All artists subject to change.

Stream on Spotify

Watch on YouTube

Beethoven: Violin Concerto

Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Photo by Barbara Luisi

MORE CONCERTS

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM