Fabio Luisi Conducts Beethoven & Brahms

Sun, May 28, 2017, 1 PM

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

  • Brahms' Symphony No. 4 and Beethoven's Violin Concerto
  • Conducted by Fabio Luisi, principal conductor of the Metropolitan Opera and general music director of the Zurich Opera
  • with violinist David Chan, concertmaster of the MET Orchestra

The Music

Beethoven: Violin Concerto
Robust yet serene at moments. The piece almost fell into obscurity until renowned violinist Joseph Joachim played it to wild success—at only twelve years of age.

Brahms: Symphony No. 4
Powerful and rich in complexity. Brahms payed tribute to Bach with a theme in the last movement—and gave it 30 variations.

The Artists

FABIO LUISI, conductor
DAVID CHAN, violin

All artists subject to change.

Stream on Spotify

Watch on YouTube

Beethoven: Violin Concerto

Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Photo by Barbara Luisi

MORE CONCERTS

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, May 6, 2018, 1 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM

Chamber Music at Old Dutch Church

Thu, May 24, 2018, 7:30 PM

Fashioning the Russian Sound

Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 7:30 PM

Domestic Music Making in Russia

Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 1:30 PM

The Tsar's Bride

Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 4:30 PM

Brahms & England

Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 2 PM

Copland's Lincoln Portrait

Sat, Nov 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Nov 4, 2018, 2 PM

Russian Evolution: From Rimsky-Korsakov to Glière

Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 7 PM

The Romantic Hero

Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 2 PM

Verdi's Requiem

Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 2 PM

De Profundis: Out of the Depths

Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 2 PM