Opera, Politics, and the Italian

Fri, Aug 5, 2016, 7:30 PM

THE RICHARD B. FISHER CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS AT BARD COLLEGE, SOSNOFF THEATER, ANNANDALE-ON-HUDSON, NY
Presented by the Bard Music Festival

–Performance with commentary by Leon Botstein
–Excerpts from operas and other works by Giacomo Puccini, Saverio Mercadante, Giuseppe Verdi, Amilcare Ponchielli, Arrigo Boito, Alfredo Catalani, and Pietro Mascagni
–Performed with Melody Moore, soprano; Russell Thomas, tenor; and the Bard Festival Chorale
–Conducted by Leon Botstein; “peerlessly adventurous” –The New York Times

MORE CONCERTS

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, May 6, 2018, 1 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM

Chamber Music at Old Dutch Church

Thu, May 24, 2018, 7:30 PM

Fashioning the Russian Sound

Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 7:30 PM

Domestic Music Making in Russia

Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 1:30 PM

The Tsar's Bride

Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 4:30 PM

Brahms & England

Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 2 PM

Copland's Lincoln Portrait

Sat, Nov 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Nov 4, 2018, 2 PM

Russian Evolution: From Rimsky-Korsakov to Glière

Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 7 PM

The Romantic Hero

Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 2 PM

Verdi's Requiem

Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 2 PM

De Profundis: Out of the Depths

Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 2 PM