Opera, Politics, and the Italian

Fri, Aug 5, 2016, 7:30 PM

THE RICHARD B. FISHER CENTER FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS AT BARD COLLEGE, SOSNOFF THEATER, ANNANDALE-ON-HUDSON, NY
Presented by the Bard Music Festival

–Performance with commentary by Leon Botstein
–Excerpts from operas and other works by Giacomo Puccini, Saverio Mercadante, Giuseppe Verdi, Amilcare Ponchielli, Arrigo Boito, Alfredo Catalani, and Pietro Mascagni
–Performed with Melody Moore, soprano; Russell Thomas, tenor; and the Bard Festival Chorale
–Conducted by Leon Botstein; “peerlessly adventurous” –The New York Times

MORE CONCERTS

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM