Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM
Part of the series TŌN at the Fisher Center

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

ORCHESTRA SEATS JUST $35!

Choose 3 or more TŌN at the Fisher Center concerts and save 25%

  • Works by Gershwin, Schumann and Jennifer Higdon
  • TŌN performs a commemoration, a tone poem, and a symphony
  • Conducted by James Bagwell; “a distinguished conductor” –The New York Times

What’s on the Program

Jennifer Higdon blue cathedral
“This piece associates memories with music. The ethereal beauty in the orchestration brings personal emotions to the forefront.” –Kelly Mozeik, oboe

Gershwin An American in Paris
“Although this was written about Paris, its hectic and bustling nature also reminds me of my years living in New York City.” –Holly Nelson, violin

Schumann Symphony No. 2
“I wasn’t surprised to learn that Schumann wrote this while he was struggling with sickness. It begins with a foreboding fanfare from the distance, with melancholy throughout the piece until the 4th movement, where he phrases his longing for life and recovery.” –Szabolcs Koczur, trumpet

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

SAT/SUN
8:00/2:00 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Jennifer Higdon blue cathedral
13 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

George Gershwin An American in Paris
18 min

8:45/2:45 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

William Schumann Symphony No. 2
38 min

9:50/3:50 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

JAMES BAGWELL, conductor

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Jennifer Higdon blue cathedral

Gershwin An American in Paris

Schumann Symphony No. 2

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM