Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center
in NYC

ORCHESTRA SEATS JUST $50!

Tickets from $25

  • Works by Adams, Holst, and Penderecki
  • TŌN performs a “fanfare for orchestra,” a concerto, and a suite
  • Conducted by JoAnn Falletta; “one of the finest conductors of her generation” –The New York Times
  • With Dennis Kim and Roman Mekinulov, concertmaster and principal cellist of the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra
  • With the Bard Festival Chorale

What’s on the Program

Adams Short Ride in a Fast Machine
“I’ve actually performed this piece six times. It’s joyously raucous and fast-paced with layers upon layers of rhythm.” –Matt Walley, trombone

Penderecki Double Concerto
“This concerto is muscular, expansive, and technically demanding. It keeps the listener eager to see what happens next.” –Grace Choi, violin

Holst The Planets
The Planets could be a movie score. It’s picturesque and exciting, and all of the movements really come to life.” –Milad Daniari, bass

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

7:30 Concert begins
John Adams Short Ride in a Fast Machine
4 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Krzysztof Penderecki Double Concerto
Dennis Kim, violin
Roman Mekinulov, cello
22 min

8:10 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Gustav Holst The Planets
Bard Festival Chorale
50 min

9:30 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

JOANN FALLETTA, conductor
DENNIS KIM, violin
ROMAN MEKINULOV, cello
BARD FESTIVAL CHORALE

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Adams Short Ride in a Fast Machine

Penderecki Double Concerto

Gustav Holst The Planets

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM