Free Concert in Queens

Sun, Apr 2, 2017, 3 PM
Part of the series Around Town

at LaGuardia Performing Arts Center at LaGuardia Community College, Mainstage Theater
in Queens

  • Works by Philip Glass, Herrmann, and Harris
  • TŌN performs a prelude and two symphonies, one based on the David Bowie album Low
  • Conducted by James Bagwell; “a distinguished conductor” –The New York Times

The Music

Herrmann: Prelude from North by Northwest
Sharp with a sense of danger. One of the finest scores Herrmann ever composed for an Alfred Hitchcock film.


Harris: Symphony No. 3
Rustic and fierce. In writing this piece Harris helped define the voice of the American composer.


Philip Glass: Symphony No. 1, Low
Roaming and wondrous. Glass based this symphony on David Bowie’s album Low.

The Artists

JAMES BAGWELL, conductor

All artists subject to change.

Stream on Spotify

Watch on YouTube

Herrmann: Prelude from North by Northwest

Harris: Symphony No. 3

Philip Glass: Symphony No. 1, Low

Photo by Kristin Hoeberman

MORE CONCERTS

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert at Symphony Space

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM