Free Concert in Queens

Fri, Apr 29, 2016, 8 PM–10 PM

–The Orchestra Now plays a free concert in Queens
–Mendelssohn, Prokofiev, & Dvořák
–Conducted by JoAnn Falletta; “One of the finest conductors of her generation” –The New York Times
–Violinist Michael Ludwig; “Persuasive playing, silky tone, sensitivity to colour and flair for ‘golden-age’ style” –BBC Music Magazine

Program

Dvořák: Czech Suite
Sharp and amiable; first conducted by a guy named Cech!

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2
Graceful, with a taste of Spain; one of the most loved of his works for violin

Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4, “Italian”
Cheery and full of dance; he wrote to his sister, “It will be the jolliest piece I have ever done”

Artists

JOANN FALLETTA, conductor
MICHAEL LUDWIG, violin

Video

Dvořák – Czech Suite

Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No. 2

Mendelssohn – Symphony No. 4, “Italian”

MORE CONCERTS

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM