Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM
Part of the series Around Town
Presented by Symphony Space and The Orchestra Now

at Peter Norton Symphony Space
in NYC

FREE

RSVP starting Dec 21

  • Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
    Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
    Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
    Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey

MORE ABOUT THE MUSIC

Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
“This piece is full of many characters and colors. I love how it’s both energetic and intimate.” –Sangwon Lee, clarinet

Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
“I love Sibelius and his ability to create such unique textures and moods in his music. This seems to be no exception. It’s dark yet beautiful, and the image it paints of a swan floating through the realm of the dead is so clear you can almost feel it.” –Alana Shannon, cello

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
Fiery and melodic

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey
“Listening to this symphony is like sweeping through a mountainous landscape—vast and expansive with lush orchestration.” –Clara Engen, violin

Program subject to change.

TIMINGS & CONCERT ORDER

The concert will last approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes.

Brief remarks by TŌN musician Fangxi Liu

George Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
12 min

Jean Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
9 min

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
15 min

Intermission
20 min

Brief remarks by TŌN musician Zhenyuan Yao

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey
29 min

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

MORE ABOUT THE ARTISTS

ZACHARY SCHWARTZMAN, conductor
Zachary Schwartzman has conducted around the United States, in Brazil, England, Bosnia, and Mexico. His orchestral performances have been featured on NPR, including a national broadcast on “Performance Today.” He was associate conductor for two seasons with New York City Opera, as well as conductor in their VOX series, and has been associate/assistant conductor for fifteen productions at Glimmerglass Opera.
>Full Bio

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1

Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey

MORE CONCERTS

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert at Symphony Space

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts Holst's The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM