Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM
Part of the series Around Town

at Peter Norton Symphony Space
in NYC

FREE

RSVP starting Dec 21

  • Works by Sibelius, Rimsky-Korsakov, Enescu, and Einojuhani Rautavaara
  • TŌN performs a rhapsody, a tone poem, a suite, and a symphony
  • Conducted by Zachary Schwartzman, TŌN’s resident conductor

What’s on the Program

Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
“This piece is full of many characters and colors. I love how it’s both energetic and intimate.” –Sangwon Lee, clarinet

Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
“I love Sibelius and his ability to create such unique textures and moods in his music. This seems to be no exception. It’s dark yet beautiful, and the image it paints of a swan floating through the realm of the dead is so clear you can almost feel it.” –Alana Shannon, cello

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
Fiery and melodic

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey
“Listening to this symphony is like sweeping through a mountainous landscape—vast and expansive with lush orchestration.” –Clara Engen, violin

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

4:00 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

George Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
12 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Jean Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
9 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
15 min

5:00 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey
29 min

5:55 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

ZACHARY SCHWARTZMAN, conductor

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1

Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM