Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM
Part of the series Around Town
Presented by Symphony Space and The Orchestra Now
  • Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
    Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
    Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
    Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey

MORE ABOUT THE MUSIC

Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
“This piece is full of many characters and colors. I love how it’s both energetic and intimate.” –Sangwon Lee, clarinet

Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
“I love Sibelius and his ability to create such unique textures and moods in his music. This seems to be no exception. It’s dark yet beautiful, and the image it paints of a swan floating through the realm of the dead is so clear you can almost feel it.” –Alana Shannon, cello

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
“This piece paints a picture of Spain and a Spanish folk band. It has a lot of flare and pizazz—it is in no way introverted.” –Yurie Mitsuhashiviolin

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey
“Listening to this symphony is like sweeping through a mountainous landscape—vast and expansive with lush orchestration.” –Clara Engen, violin

TIMINGS & CONCERT ORDER

George Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1
12 min

Jean Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela
9 min

Brief remarks by TŌN musician Fangxi Liu

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol
15 min

Intermission
20 min

Brief remarks by TŌN musician Zhenyuan Yao

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey
29 min

All timings are approximate.

MORE ABOUT THE ARTISTS

ZACHARY SCHWARTZMAN, conductor
Zachary Schwartzman has conducted around the United States, in Brazil, England, Bosnia, and Mexico. His orchestral performances have been featured on NPR, including a national broadcast on “Performance Today.” He was associate conductor for two seasons with New York City Opera, as well as conductor in their VOX series, and has been associate/assistant conductor for fifteen productions at Glimmerglass Opera.
>Full Bio

Sample the Music

Enescu Romanian Rhapsody No. 1

Sibelius The Swan of Tuonela

Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol

Einojuhani Rautavaara Symphony No. 8, The Journey

Photo by Jito Lee

MORE CONCERTS

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, May 6, 2018, 1 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM

Chamber Music at Old Dutch Church

Thu, May 24, 2018, 7:30 PM

Fashioning the Russian Sound

Fri, Aug 10, 2018, 7:30 PM

Domestic Music Making in Russia

Sat, Aug 18, 2018, 1:30 PM

The Tsar's Bride

Sun, Aug 19, 2018, 4:30 PM

Brahms & England

Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 2 PM

Copland's Lincoln Portrait

Sat, Nov 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Nov 4, 2018, 2 PM

Russian Evolution: From Rimsky-Korsakov to Glière

Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 7 PM

The Romantic Hero

Sat, Feb 9, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 2 PM

Verdi's Requiem

Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 2 PM

De Profundis: Out of the Depths

Sat, Apr 27, 2019, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 28, 2019, 2 PM