Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM
Part of the series TŌN at the Fisher Center

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

ORCHESTRA SEATS JUST $35!

Choose 3 or more TŌN at the Fisher Center concerts and save 25%

What’s on the Program

All-Stravinsky Program

Funeral Song
“This tender lament was written by a young Stravinsky in tribute to the passing of his teacher, Rimsky-Korsakov.” –Coline Berland, violin

Symphony of Psalms
“Stravinsky uses unusual instrumentation to create dark resonance and complexity. All of this leads to an incredible, thought-provoking musical experience” –Micah Candiotti-Pacheco, clarinet

Requiem Canticles
“In typical Stravinsky fashion, this piece is totally out there. It’s made up of dark, short vignettes with a sharp, crisp quality.” –Omar Shelly, viola

The Rite of Spring
“In the opening solo of this work, the highest register of the bassoon is used in such an exposed and lyrical way that was never heard before 1913. Today, it’s thrilling to attempt to recreate the purity, sublimity, and quivering mystery in this gorgeous musical line.” –Dávid A. Nagy, bassoon

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

SAT/SUN
8:00/2:00 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Igor Stravinsky Funeral Song
12 min

Igor Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms
Bard College Chamber Singers & Bard Festival Chorale
20 min

8:45/2:45 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Igor Stravinsky Requiem Canticles
Katherine Pracht, mezzo-soprano; Jonathan Beyer, baritone
Bard College Chamber Singers & Bard Festival Chorale
14 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Igor Stravinsky The Rite of Spring
33 min

10:05/4:05 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

LEON BOTSTEIN, conductor
KATHERINE PRACHT, mezzo-soprano
JONATHAN BEYER, baritone
BARD COLLEGE CHAMBER SINGERS
BARD FESTIVAL CHORALE

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Stravinsky Funeral Song

Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms

Stravinsky Requiem Canticles

Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM