Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM
Part of the series TŌN at Rose Theater

at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall, Rose Theater
in NYC

ORCHESTRA SEATS JUST $50!

Tickets from $25

  • Works by Sibelius, Anton Rubinstein, and Michael Daugherty
  • TŌN performs a short work for strings, two piano concertos, and a cello concerto
  • Conducted by Neeme Järvi; “an eminent conductor” –The Washington Post
  • With pianist Anna Shelest and cellist Zuill Bailey

What’s on the Program

Sibelius Andante Festivo
“An homage to the natural beauty of Finland, this piece brings forth the feelings of optimism and joy that accompany such a landscape.” –Kurt Munstedt, violin

Anton Rubinstein Piano Concerto No. 4
“This concerto is an inwardly passionate and tragic drama. It’s almost like watching fireworks on the piano!” –Paul Nemeth, bass

Anton Rubinstein Caprice Russe
“It’s like a musical postcard from Russia, traveling through memories and time with a cavernous, weaving sound.” –Drew Youmans, violin

Michael Daugherty Tales of Hemingway
“I love this piece! Daugherty’s colorful orchestration evokes images of expansive landscapes, creating a poetic tribute to these places and stories.” –Eleanor Lee, cello

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

3:00 Concert begins
Jean Sibelius Andante Festivo
5 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Anton Rubinstein Piano Concerto No. 4
Anna Shelest, piano
32 min

Anton Rubinstein Caprice Russe
Anna Shelest, piano
20 min

4:10 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Michael Daugherty Tales of Hemingway
Zuill Bailey, cello
29 min

5:05 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

NEEMI JÄRVI, conductor
ANNA SHELEST, piano
ZUILL BAILEY, cello

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Sibelius Andante Festivo

Anton Rubinstein Piano Concerto No. 4

Anton Rubinstein Caprice Russe

Michael Daugherty Tales of Hemingway

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM