Schubert & Shostakovich

Fri, May 5, 2017, 7:30 PM
Part of the series TŌN at Rose Theater

at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall, Rose Theater
in NYC

  • Works by Schubert, Shostakovich, and Schoenberg
  • TŌN performs a chamber symphony and two full symphonies
  • Conducted by Oleg Caetani; “elegant and expressive” –Australia’s Daily Telegraph

The Music

Schoenberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1
Ebullient yet reflective. This groundbreaking work has become an icon for modernism.

Schubert: Symphony No. 3
Charming and concise. Schubert completed this symphony only a few months after his 18th birthday.

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 15
Darkly whimsical. Shostakovich surveys his past musical work as well as his peers’, quoting from Beethoven, Rossini, and Wagner.

The Artists

OLEG CAETANI, conductor

All artists subject to change.

Stream on Spotify

Watch on YouTube

Schoenberg: Chamber Symphony No. 1

Schubert: Symphony No. 3

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 15

Photo: Oleg Caetani

MORE CONCERTS

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM

Bartók’s Concerto for Two Pianos

Thu, May 3, 2018, 7 PM

Debussy & French Painting: Beyond Realism

Sun, May 20, 2018, 2 PM