Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM
Part of the series Sight & Sound

at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Grace Rainey Rogers Auditorium
in NYC

3-CONCERT SERIES FROM $75

Single Tickets from $30
Bring the Kids for $1

  • Conductor and music historian Leon Botstein explores the parallels between orchestral music and the visual arts
  • On-screen artworks discussed alongside musical excerpts, a full performance, and audience Q&A
  • Shostakovich’s Suite on Verses of Michelangelo and the artwork of Michelangelo & others
  • With baritone Tyler Duncan
  • Ticket includes museum admission

What’s on the Program

The Music: Shostakovich’s Suite on Verses of Michelangelo
“This suite weaves a cold and desolate story, detail by detail, like a slow-burning picture.” –Andrew Borkowski, cello

The Artwork: Works by Michelangelo & others; Presented in conjunction with the exhibition Michelangelo: Divine Draftsman and Designer, on view at The Met Fifth Avenue Nov 13, 2017–Feb 12, 2018

To commemorate the 500th anniversary of Michelangelo’s birth, Shostakovich set eleven poems by the Renaissance master to music. This symphonic song cycle illuminates the timeless struggle of artists across the ages—from Michelangelo to Beethoven and Shostakovich himself—in their quest to remain free.

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

2:00 Event begins
Conductor and music historian Leon Botstein discusses the parallels between Shostakovich’s Suite on Verses of Michelangelo and the artwork of Michelangelo & others, with on-screen artworks and musical excerpts performed by The Orchestra Now.
2:45 Intermission
20 min
Full performance

Dmitri Shostakovich Suite on Verses of Michelangelo
Sung in Russian with English supertitles
Tyler Duncan, baritone
44 min

Audience Q&A

4:00 Event ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Performers

LEON BOTSTEIN, conductor
TYLER DUNCAN, baritone

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Shostakovich Suite on Verses of Michelangelo

Michelangelo Buonarroti, (Italian, 1475–1564). A Bacchanal of Children (detail), 1530–1533. Red Chalk, sheet: 10 13/16 x 15 1/4 in. (27.4 x 38.8 cm). Royal Collection Trust/© Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II 2017, www.royalcollection.org.uk

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM