Tchaikovsky’s Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM
Part of the series TŌN at the Fisher Center

at The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, Sosnoff Theater
in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY

ORCHESTRA SEATS JUST $35!

Choose 3 or more TŌN at the Fisher Center concerts and save 25%

  • Works by Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev, and Mussorgsky
  • TŌN performs a tone poem, a piano concerto, and a symphony
  • Conducted by Leon Botstein; “relentlessly innovative” –The New York Times
  • With pianist ChaoJun Yang, a winner of the Bard College Conservatory 2016 Concerto Competition

What’s on the Program

Mussorgsky Night on Bald Mountain
“I always remember this from the movie Fantasia. It’s a frantic and fantastical musical poem based on a Russian folk tradition of a dark witches’ ritual.” –Chi Lee, viola

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2
“This took me to a distant land, following a long-traveled wanderer in a desolate place, maybe chased by a mythical creature.” –Elias Rodriguez, clarinet

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 3
“I think this symphony is both elegant and lyrical, and highlights Tchaikovsky’s skills as a brilliant orchestrator.” –Philip Brindise, French horn

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

SAT/SUN
8:00/2:00 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Modest Mussorgsky Night on Bald Mountain
10 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Sergei Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2
ChaoJun Yang, piano
34 min

9:00/3:00 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 3
46 min

10:15/4:15 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

LEON BOTSTEIN, conductor
CHAOJUN YANG, piano

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Mussorgsky Night on Bald Mountain

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 3

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM