Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM
Part of the series Around Town

at City College Center for the Arts at Aaron Davis Hall
in NYC

FREE

RSVP starting Mar 22

  • Works by Schubert, Prokofiev, and Vaughan Williams
  • TŌN performs a suite, a fantasia, and a symphony
  • Conducted by Jan Latham-Koenig; “draws strong playing from the orchestra” –The Telegraph

What’s on the Program

Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis
“Beautiful and contemplative. It really experiments with the different textures and colors within a string orchestra. It reminds me so much of movie music—no wonder it was used in Master and Commander.” –William McPeters, bass

Schubert Symphony No. 8, Unfinished
“Even though it is known as “unfinished,” this symphony feels entirely complete to me. It’s personal and romantic, with dramatic passages that interweave with expressive and romantic moments.” –Diego Gabete, violin

Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet Suite
“This is so fun to play. You’ll really be able to hear the bass trombone and tuba in the Montagues and Capulets.” –Federico Ramos, bass trombone

Program subject to change.

What to Expect

7:00 Concert begins
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Ralph Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis
16 min

Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Franz Schubert Symphony No. 8, Unfinished
26 min

8:00 Intermission
20 min
Brief remarks by one of TŌN’s musicians

Sergei Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet Suite
38 min

9:05 Concert ends

All timings are approximate. Program subject to change.

The Artists

JAN LATHAM-KOENIG, conductor

Artists subject to change.

Sample the Music

Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis

Schubert Symphony No. 8, Unfinished

Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet Suite

MORE CONCERTS

Chopin and the Salon

Sat, Aug 19, 2017, 1:30 PM

Shared Passions, Different Paths

Sun, Aug 20, 2017, 4:30 PM

Historic Hudson Chamber Music Series

Sun, Sep 17, 2017, 2 PM

Tchaikovsky's Third Symphony

Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 2 PM

FREE: Haydn & Frankenstein!!

Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 3 PM & Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Sibelius & Rubinstein

Sun, Oct 15, 2017, 3 PM

Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

Sat, Oct 21, 2017, 8 PM & Sun, Oct 22, 2017, 2 PM

Herrmann’s Psycho Suite

Fri, Nov 3, 2017, 7:30 PM

Bruckner’s Romantic Symphony

Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 8 PM

FREE Concert on the Upper West Side

Sun, Nov 19, 2017, 4 PM

Schoenberg, Munch & Expressionism

Sun, Dec 3, 2017, 2 PM

Falletta Conducts The Planets

Thu, Dec 14, 2017, 7:30 PM

FREE: Sibelius & Rimsky-Korsakov

Sun, Jan 21, 2018, 4 PM

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Sat, Feb 3, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 4, 2018, 2 PM

Shostakovich, Michelangelo & The Artistic Conscience

Sun, Feb 11, 2018, 2 PM

Mahler’s Seventh Symphony

Sat, Feb 17, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Feb 18, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Bizet’s Symphony in C

Fri, Mar 16, 2018, 7:30 PM & Sun, Mar 18, 2018, 3 PM

Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique

Thu, Mar 29, 2018, 7:30 PM

Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring

Sat, Apr 14, 2018, 8 PM & Sun, Apr 15, 2018, 2 PM

FREE: Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony

Fri, Apr 20, 2018, 7 PM